A FIELD GUIDE TO LIES AND STATISTICS REVIEW



A Field Guide To Lies And Statistics Review

Book Review A Field Guide to Lies Critical Thinking in. A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics. We live in a world with far more information at our disposal than ever before. This is a double edged sword, however, when we must sift through the data and think critically about what it means. In his delightfully clear and readable field guide, Daniel Levitin walks us through all the ways we can be misled, [Book] A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics: A Neuroscientist on How to Make Sense of a Complex World.

A Field Guide to Lies Quotes by Daniel J. Levitin

A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics Rakuten Kobo. Penguin presents the unabridged downloadable audiobook edition of A Field Guide to Lies by David Levitin, read by Dan Piraro.. The best-selling author of The Organized Mind explains and debunks statistics in the information age.. We live in a world of information overload. Facts and figures on absolutely everything are at our fingertips but are too often biased, distorted, or outright lies., One of the book's strengths lies in explaining Bayesian statistics to those who do better filling in boxes than solving equations. In fact, throughout the book Levitin shows how not to be fooled.

They are information and misinformation, writes neuroscientist Daniel Levitin in his book “A field guide to lies and statistics”. But are these two really fighting on a level playing field? New research findings published in Science magazine show that things are much more serious than we might have thought. Researchers from MIT studied a 18/12/2016 · A guide to critical thinking in the 'post-truth' era, from the author of Sunday Times best-seller The Organized Mind. We live in a world of information overload. Facts and figures on absolutely everything are at our fingertips, but are too often biased, distorted, or outright lies.

Get this from a library! A field guide to lies and statistics : a neuroscientist on how to make sense of a complex world. [Daniel J Levitin] -- We live in a world of information overload. Facts and figures on absolutely everything are at our fingertips, but are too often biased, distorted, or outright lies. From unemployment figures to A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics is a useful complement to books such as Richard Nisbett’s excellent study of cognitive biases, Mindware: Tools for Smart Thinking. Levitin doesn’t venture on to the ground of the pervasiveness of cognitive biases such as “identity-protective cognition”, which leads people to systematically distort

15/12/2017 · Buy A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics: A Neuroscientist on How to Make Sense of a Complex World by Daniel Levitin (ISBN: 9780241239995) from Amazon's Book Store. Everyday low prices and free delivery on eligible orders. A FIELD GUIDE TO LIES. Critical Thinking in the Information Age. by Daniel J . Levitin. BUY NOW FROM lies abound, and “bad statistics are everywhere.” Averages can be manipulated. Graphs can distort. Misinformation proliferates in books, websites, videos, and social media. What to do? Levitin says we must engage in critical thinking, and he spells out in this lucid text exactly what

[Book] A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics: A Neuroscientist on How to Make Sense of a Complex World 29/01/2020В В· It's becoming harder to separate the wheat from the digital chaff. How do we distinguish misinformation, pseudo-facts, distortions, and outright lies from reliable information? Levitin groups his field guide into two categories?statistical infomation and faulty arguments?ultimately showing how science is the bedrock of critical thinking

I really enjoyed A Field Guide to Lies. I found it very clear and easy to read. The author also has a humorous style, which made it fun to read despite some pockets of more dense information. Get this from a library! A field guide to lies and statistics : a neuroscientist on how to make sense of a complex world. [Daniel J Levitin] -- We live in a world of information overload. Facts and figures on absolutely everything are at our fingertips, but are too often biased, distorted, or outright lies. From unemployment figures to

2016-Levitin-Field-Guide-To-Lies-TOC-Intro.pdf Page 2 . INTRODUCTION: THINKING CRITICALLY . This is a book about how to spot problems with the facts you encounter, problems that may lead you to draw the wrong conclusions. Sometimes the people giving you the facts are hoping you'll draw the wrong conclusion; sometimes they don't know the difference “Just as Strunk and White taught us how to communicate better, the Field Guide to Lies is an indispensable guide to thinking better. As Big Data becomes a dominant theme in our culture, we are all obliged to sharpen our critical thinking so as to thwart the forces of obfuscation. Levitin has done a great service here.”—Jasper Rine

A guide to critical thinking in the 'post-truth' era, from the author of Sunday Times best-seller The Organized Mind We live in a world of information overload. Facts and figures on absolutely everything are at our fingertips, but are too often bi... Stream A Field Guide To Lies and Statistics by Daniel Levitin (audiobook extract) read by Dan Piraro by Penguin Books UK from desktop or your mobile device

Review “A Field Guide to Lies Critical Thinking in the

a field guide to lies and statistics review

Deciphering information and misinformation Inspired by. r/psychology: A Reddit community for sharing and discussing science-based psychological material. Press J to jump to the feed. Press question mark to learn the rest of the keyboard shortcuts, Find helpful customer reviews and review ratings for A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking in the Information Age at Amazon.com. Read honest and unbiased product reviews from our users..

bol.com A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics Daniel. A Field Guide to Lies is a valuable survival guide to consuming information in the digital age."—Lori Holt, Professor, Department of Psychology and Center for the Neural Basis of Cognition, Carnegie Mellon University "Our brain is wired to make snap judgments. And those judgments can be very, very wrong., We are bombarded with more information each day than our brains can process especially in election season. It's raining bad data, half-truths, and even outright lies. Daniel J. Levitin shows how to recognize misleading announcements, statistics, graphs, and written reports ….

A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics by Daniel Levitin is

a field guide to lies and statistics review

Levitin A Field Guide To Lies Seeking Alpha. They are information and misinformation, writes neuroscientist Daniel Levitin in his book “A field guide to lies and statistics”. But are these two really fighting on a level playing field? New research findings published in Science magazine show that things are much more serious than we might have thought. Researchers from MIT studied a https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lies,_damned_lies,_and_statistics “As a lucid guide to critical thinking about statistics, information and assertion it is profoundly welcome”—Observer “On the internet, nobody knows you’re not an expert. Luckily, McGill University Cognitive Psychologist and A Field Guide to Lies author Daniel J. Levitin has a few tricks to pick out the professors from the phonies.”—.

a field guide to lies and statistics review

  • Nonfiction Book Review A Field Guide to Lies Critical
  • Review “A Field Guide to Lies Critical Thinking in the
  • [Read] A Field Guide to Lies Critical Thinking in the

  • One of the book's strengths lies in explaining Bayesian statistics to those who do better filling in boxes than solving equations. In fact, throughout the book Levitin shows how not to be fooled Find helpful customer reviews and review ratings for A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics at Amazon.com. Read honest and unbiased product reviews from our users.

    A FIELD GUIDE TO LIES. Critical Thinking in the Information Age. by Daniel J . Levitin. BUY NOW FROM lies abound, and “bad statistics are everywhere.” Averages can be manipulated. Graphs can distort. Misinformation proliferates in books, websites, videos, and social media. What to do? Levitin says we must engage in critical thinking, and he spells out in this lucid text exactly what 21/02/2017 · Unfortunately, “Weaponized Lies” (paperback, March 2017) is 99.9% (I made that statistic up, but it’s close enough) the same book as “A Field Guide to Lies” (hardcover, September 2016), changing the title to take advantage of the buzz around the “post-truth era”, but doing little to address what is fundamentally different about

    Review: Daniel J. Levitin’s A Field Guide to Lies is smart, timely and massively useful Open this photo in gallery: Donald Trump speaks at an event Saturday, Oct. 3, 2015, in Franklin, Tenn. About Weaponized Lies. Previously Published as A Field Guide to Lies We’re surrounded by fringe theories, fake news, and pseudo-facts. These lies are getting repeated. New York Times bestselling author Daniel Levitin shows how to disarm these socially devastating inventions and get the American mind back on track.Here are the fundamental lessons in critical thinking that we need to know and

    A Field Guide to Lies is a valuable survival guide to consuming information in the digital age."—Lori Holt, Professor, Department of Psychology and Center for the Neural Basis of Cognition, Carnegie Mellon University "Our brain is wired to make snap judgments. And those judgments can be very, very wrong. “As a lucid guide to critical thinking about statistics, information and assertion it is profoundly welcome”—Observer “On the internet, nobody knows you’re not an expert. Luckily, McGill University Cognitive Psychologist and A Field Guide to Lies author Daniel J. Levitin has a few tricks to pick out the professors from the phonies.”—

    About Weaponized Lies. Previously Published as A Field Guide to Lies We’re surrounded by fringe theories, fake news, and pseudo-facts. These lies are getting repeated. New York Times bestselling author Daniel Levitin shows how to disarm these socially devastating inventions and get the American mind back on track.Here are the fundamental lessons in critical thinking that we need to know and Levitin (The Organized Mind) equips readers with tools to combat misinformation—bad data, false facts, distortions, and their ilk—in this useful primer on the importance of critical thinking

    It really is something of a field guide as well; I consider myself to be a decent critical thinker, but there were several tips and tricks that I plan to use in the future that I never would've considered had I not read this book. Levitin does a really great job of being non-partisan - he … “Just as Strunk and White taught us how to communicate better, the Field Guide to Lies is an indispensable guide to thinking better. As Big Data becomes a dominant theme in our culture, we are all obliged to sharpen our critical thinking so as to thwart the forces of obfuscation. Levitin has done a great service here.”—Jasper Rine

    A Field Guide to Lies book. Read 425 reviews from the world's largest community for readers. From The New York Times bestselling author of THE ORGANIZED 2016-Levitin-Field-Guide-To-Lies-TOC-Intro.pdf Page 2 . INTRODUCTION: THINKING CRITICALLY . This is a book about how to spot problems with the facts you encounter, problems that may lead you to draw the wrong conclusions. Sometimes the people giving you the facts are hoping you'll draw the wrong conclusion; sometimes they don't know the difference

    Levitin (The Organized Mind) equips readers with tools to combat misinformation—bad data, false facts, distortions, and their ilk—in this useful primer on the importance of critical thinking They are information and misinformation, writes neuroscientist Daniel Levitin in his book “A field guide to lies and statistics”. But are these two really fighting on a level playing field? New research findings published in Science magazine show that things are much more serious than we might have thought. Researchers from MIT studied a

    A Field Guide to Lies Critical Thinking in the

    a field guide to lies and statistics review

    A field guide to lies and statistics a neuroscientist on. r/psychology: A Reddit community for sharing and discussing science-based psychological material. Press J to jump to the feed. Press question mark to learn the rest of the keyboard shortcuts, Winner of the National Business Book AwardFrom the New York Times bestselling author of The Organized Mind and This Is Your Brain on Music, a primer to the critical thinking that is more necessary now than ever We are bombarded with more information each day than our brains can process—especially in election season.It's raining bad data, half-truths, and even outright lies..

    a book review by Richard Cytowic A Field Guide to Lies

    A field guide to lies and statistics a neuroscientist on. We are bombarded with more information each day than our brains can process especially in election season. It's raining bad data, half-truths, and even outright lies. Daniel J. Levitin shows how to recognize misleading announcements, statistics, graphs, and written reports …, 2016-Levitin-Field-Guide-To-Lies-TOC-Intro.pdf Page 2 . INTRODUCTION: THINKING CRITICALLY . This is a book about how to spot problems with the facts you encounter, problems that may lead you to draw the wrong conclusions. Sometimes the people giving you the facts are hoping you'll draw the wrong conclusion; sometimes they don't know the difference.

    A FIELD GUIDE TO LIES. Critical Thinking in the Information Age. by Daniel J . Levitin. BUY NOW FROM lies abound, and “bad statistics are everywhere.” Averages can be manipulated. Graphs can distort. Misinformation proliferates in books, websites, videos, and social media. What to do? Levitin says we must engage in critical thinking, and he spells out in this lucid text exactly what “Statistics,” as Daniel J. Levitin says in A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking in the Information Age, “because they are numbers, can appear to us to be cold hard facts.”And this can lead us to accept them unquestioningly. But questions are crucial: Who counted what, and why?

    They are information and misinformation, writes neuroscientist Daniel Levitin in his book “A field guide to lies and statistics”. But are these two really fighting on a level playing field? New research findings published in Science magazine show that things are much more serious than we might have thought. Researchers from MIT studied a A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics. We live in a world with far more information at our disposal than ever before. This is a double edged sword, however, when we must sift through the data and think critically about what it means. In his delightfully clear and readable field guide, Daniel Levitin walks us through all the ways we can be misled

    Winner of the National Business Book AwardFrom the New York Times bestselling author of The Organized Mind and This Is Your Brain on Music, a primer to the critical thinking that is more necessary now than ever We are bombarded with more information each day than our brains can process—especially in election season.It's raining bad data, half-truths, and even outright lies. 15/12/2017 · Buy A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics: A Neuroscientist on How to Make Sense of a Complex World by Daniel Levitin (ISBN: 9780241239995) from Amazon's Book Store. Everyday low prices and free delivery on eligible orders.

    Get this from a library! A field guide to lies and statistics : a neuroscientist on how to make sense of a complex world. [Daniel J Levitin] -- We live in a world of information overload. Facts and figures on absolutely everything are at our fingertips, but are too often biased, distorted, or outright lies. From unemployment figures to “As a lucid guide to critical thinking about statistics, information and assertion it is profoundly welcome”—Observer “On the internet, nobody knows you’re not an expert. Luckily, McGill University Cognitive Psychologist and A Field Guide to Lies author Daniel J. Levitin has a few tricks to pick out the professors from the phonies.”—

    States (Jeffrey Glassberg Field Guide Series) Field Guide to Lens Design (SPIE Press Field Guide FG27) (Field Guides) Breakthrough Thinking: A Guide to Creative Thinking and Idea Generation Thinker's Guide to Analytic Thinking: How to Take Thinking Apart and What to Look for When You Do In Real Life: Love, Lies & Identity in the Digital Age About Weaponized Lies. Previously Published as A Field Guide to Lies We’re surrounded by fringe theories, fake news, and pseudo-facts. These lies are getting repeated. New York Times bestselling author Daniel Levitin shows how to disarm these socially devastating inventions and get the American mind back on track.Here are the fundamental lessons in critical thinking that we need to know and

    A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking in the Information Age by Daniel J. Levitin book review. Click to read the full review of A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking in the Information Age in New York Journal of Books. Review written by Richard Cytowic. Review: Daniel J. Levitin’s A Field Guide to Lies is smart, timely and massively useful Open this photo in gallery: Donald Trump speaks at an event Saturday, Oct. 3, 2015, in Franklin, Tenn.

    A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking in the Information Age, written by Daniel J. Levitin was originally published in 2016 in hardcover by Dutton, and was republished in 2017 in paperback with a revised introduction under the new title Weaponized Lies: How to Think Critically in the Post-truth Era. “Statistics,” as Daniel J. Levitin says in A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking in the Information Age, “because they are numbers, can appear to us to be cold hard facts.”And this can lead us to accept them unquestioningly. But questions are crucial: Who counted what, and why?

    r/psychology: A Reddit community for sharing and discussing science-based psychological material. Press J to jump to the feed. Press question mark to learn the rest of the keyboard shortcuts One of the book's strengths lies in explaining Bayesian statistics to those who do better filling in boxes than solving equations. In fact, throughout the book Levitin shows how not to be fooled

    21/02/2017 · Unfortunately, “Weaponized Lies” (paperback, March 2017) is 99.9% (I made that statistic up, but it’s close enough) the same book as “A Field Guide to Lies” (hardcover, September 2016), changing the title to take advantage of the buzz around the “post-truth era”, but doing little to address what is fundamentally different about “Entertaining and filled with helpful hints, A Field Guide to Lies is a valuable tool for navigating the daily data onslaught.”—San Jose Mercury News “[S]mart and humorous…the tools anyone needs to tell good information from bad are in this definitive guide to critical thinking.”—Shelf Awareness

    Stream A Field Guide To Lies and Statistics by Daniel Levitin (audiobook extract) read by Dan Piraro by Penguin Books UK from desktop or your mobile device Stream A Field Guide To Lies and Statistics by Daniel Levitin (audiobook extract) read by Dan Piraro by Penguin Books UK from desktop or your mobile device

    “Entertaining and filled with helpful hints, A Field Guide to Lies is a valuable tool for navigating the daily data onslaught.”—San Jose Mercury News “[S]mart and humorous…the tools anyone needs to tell good information from bad are in this definitive guide to critical thinking.”—Shelf Awareness I really enjoyed A Field Guide to Lies. I found it very clear and easy to read. The author also has a humorous style, which made it fun to read despite some pockets of more dense information.

    29/01/2020В В· It's becoming harder to separate the wheat from the digital chaff. How do we distinguish misinformation, pseudo-facts, distortions, and outright lies from reliable information? Levitin groups his field guide into two categories?statistical infomation and faulty arguments?ultimately showing how science is the bedrock of critical thinking Find helpful customer reviews and review ratings for A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking in the Information Age at Amazon.com. Read honest and unbiased product reviews from our users.

    “Entertaining and filled with helpful hints, A Field Guide to Lies is a valuable tool for navigating the daily data onslaught.”—San Jose Mercury News “[S]mart and humorous…the tools anyone needs to tell good information from bad are in this definitive guide to critical thinking.”—Shelf Awareness A Field Guide to Lies book. Read 425 reviews from the world's largest community for readers. From The New York Times bestselling author of THE ORGANIZED

    A Field Guide to Lies book. Read 425 reviews from the world's largest community for readers. From The New York Times bestselling author of THE ORGANIZED A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking in the Information Age by Daniel J. Levitin 2,676 ratings, 3.77 average rating, 428 reviews A Field Guide to Lies Quotes Showing 1-11 of 11 “Be careful of averages and how they’re applied.

    Book Review A Field Guide to Lies – The Decolonized Librarian

    a field guide to lies and statistics review

    A field guide to lies and statistics a neuroscientist on. “A Field Guide to Lies by the neuroscientist Daniel Levitin lays out the many ways in which each of us can be fooled and misled by numbers and logic, as well as the modes of critical thinking we will need to overcome this.”—The Wall Street Journal, r/psychology: A Reddit community for sharing and discussing science-based psychological material. Press J to jump to the feed. Press question mark to learn the rest of the keyboard shortcuts.

    bol.com A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics Daniel

    a field guide to lies and statistics review

    Deciphering information and misinformation Inspired by. Find helpful customer reviews and review ratings for A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics: A Neuroscientist on How to Make Sense of a Complex World at Amazon.com. Read honest and unbiased product reviews from our users. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Field_Guide_to_Lies Stream A Field Guide To Lies and Statistics by Daniel Levitin (audiobook extract) read by Dan Piraro by Penguin Books UK from desktop or your mobile device.

    a field guide to lies and statistics review

  • Levitin A Field Guide To Lies Seeking Alpha
  • A Field Guide to Lies Critical Thinking in the
  • Amazon.com Customer reviews A Field Guide to Lies and

  • “As a lucid guide to critical thinking about statistics, information and assertion it is profoundly welcome”—Observer “On the internet, nobody knows you’re not an expert. Luckily, McGill University Cognitive Psychologist and A Field Guide to Lies author Daniel J. Levitin has a few tricks to pick out the professors from the phonies.”— It really is something of a field guide as well; I consider myself to be a decent critical thinker, but there were several tips and tricks that I plan to use in the future that I never would've considered had I not read this book. Levitin does a really great job of being non-partisan - he …

    “Just as Strunk and White taught us how to communicate better, the Field Guide to Lies is an indispensable guide to thinking better. As Big Data becomes a dominant theme in our culture, we are all obliged to sharpen our critical thinking so as to thwart the forces of obfuscation. Levitin has done a great service here.”—Jasper Rine Find helpful customer reviews and review ratings for A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking in the Information Age at Amazon.com. Read honest and unbiased product reviews from our users.

    A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics is a useful complement to books such as Richard Nisbett’s excellent study of cognitive biases, Mindware: Tools for Smart Thinking. Levitin doesn’t venture on to the ground of the pervasiveness of cognitive biases such as “identity-protective cognition”, which leads people to systematically distort r/psychology: A Reddit community for sharing and discussing science-based psychological material. Press J to jump to the feed. Press question mark to learn the rest of the keyboard shortcuts

    Winner of the National Business Book AwardFrom the New York Times bestselling author of The Organized Mind and This Is Your Brain on Music, a primer to the critical thinking that is more necessary now than ever We are bombarded with more information each day than our brains can process—especially in election season.It's raining bad data, half-truths, and even outright lies. I really enjoyed A Field Guide to Lies. I found it very clear and easy to read. The author also has a humorous style, which made it fun to read despite some pockets of more dense information.

    [Book] A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics: A Neuroscientist on How to Make Sense of a Complex World A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics is a useful complement to books such as Richard Nisbett’s excellent study of cognitive biases, Mindware: Tools for Smart Thinking. Levitin doesn’t venture on to the ground of the pervasiveness of cognitive biases such as “identity-protective cognition”, which leads people to systematically distort

    Stream A Field Guide To Lies and Statistics by Daniel Levitin (audiobook extract) read by Dan Piraro by Penguin Books UK from desktop or your mobile device Read "A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics A Neuroscientist on How to Make Sense of a Complex World" by Daniel Levitin available from Rakuten Kobo. A guide to critical thinking in the 'post-truth' era, from the author of Sunday Times best-seller The Organized Mind We

    27/10/2016 · While A Field Guide to Lies may help readers make better sense of news reports and be wiser consumers, Levitin’s failure to situate his book in the contemporary politics of “truthiness” dramatically diminishes its value – and relevance. As a result, it unintentionally demonstrates that, absent an understanding of ideology and power, no 2016-Levitin-Field-Guide-To-Lies-TOC-Intro.pdf Page 2 . INTRODUCTION: THINKING CRITICALLY . This is a book about how to spot problems with the facts you encounter, problems that may lead you to draw the wrong conclusions. Sometimes the people giving you the facts are hoping you'll draw the wrong conclusion; sometimes they don't know the difference

    A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics is a useful complement to books such as Richard Nisbett’s excellent study of cognitive biases, Mindware: Tools for Smart Thinking. Levitin doesn’t venture on to the ground of the pervasiveness of cognitive biases such as “identity-protective cognition”, which leads people to systematically distort “Just as Strunk and White taught us how to communicate better, the Field Guide to Lies is an indispensable guide to thinking better. As Big Data becomes a dominant theme in our culture, we are all obliged to sharpen our critical thinking so as to thwart the forces of obfuscation. Levitin has done a great service here.”—Jasper Rine

    A Field Guide to Lies book. Read 425 reviews from the world's largest community for readers. From The New York Times bestselling author of THE ORGANIZED Winner of the National Business Book AwardFrom the New York Times bestselling author of The Organized Mind and This Is Your Brain on Music, a primer to the critical thinking that is more necessary now than ever We are bombarded with more information each day than our brains can process—especially in election season.It's raining bad data, half-truths, and even outright lies.

    Levitin (The Organized Mind) equips readers with tools to combat misinformation—bad data, false facts, distortions, and their ilk—in this useful primer on the importance of critical thinking It really is something of a field guide as well; I consider myself to be a decent critical thinker, but there were several tips and tricks that I plan to use in the future that I never would've considered had I not read this book. Levitin does a really great job of being non-partisan - he …

    A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking in the Information Age, written by Daniel J. Levitin was originally published in 2016 in hardcover by Dutton, and was republished in 2017 in paperback with a revised introduction under the new title Weaponized Lies: How to Think Critically in the Post-truth Era. A Field Guide to Lies and Statistics. We live in a world with far more information at our disposal than ever before. This is a double edged sword, however, when we must sift through the data and think critically about what it means. In his delightfully clear and readable field guide, Daniel Levitin walks us through all the ways we can be misled

    Penguin presents the unabridged downloadable audiobook edition of A Field Guide to Lies by David Levitin, read by Dan Piraro.. The best-selling author of The Organized Mind explains and debunks statistics in the information age.. We live in a world of information overload. Facts and figures on absolutely everything are at our fingertips but are too often biased, distorted, or outright lies. “Statistics,” as Daniel J. Levitin says in A Field Guide to Lies: Critical Thinking in the Information Age, “because they are numbers, can appear to us to be cold hard facts.”And this can lead us to accept them unquestioningly. But questions are crucial: Who counted what, and why?

    a field guide to lies and statistics review

    Get this from a library! A field guide to lies and statistics : a neuroscientist on how to make sense of a complex world. [Daniel J Levitin] -- We live in a world of information overload. Facts and figures on absolutely everything are at our fingertips, but are too often biased, distorted, or outright lies. From unemployment figures to I really enjoyed A Field Guide to Lies. I found it very clear and easy to read. The author also has a humorous style, which made it fun to read despite some pockets of more dense information.